top of page

Pummelling Pomegranates

Pedantically speaking... pummeling is beating hard with fists...this may work but I prefer a few hard smacks with a heavy spoon

This is the best thing Jamie Oliver has done for me ...inform me how to remove the seeds easily and release inbuilt tension at one and the same time!

Those juicy ruby red seeds just oozing goodness...add to smoothies or juice them, either way they are tiny bubbles of energy.

I had a tree near me (I would wouldn't I?) with permission to pick freely. Yum. (I didn't bother to smoothie them, just deseeded about six for breakfast each morn and munched my way through until I had eaten the tree clean.)

Roma is the Portuguese name, ironically the same as that given to the people that roam. It is only the fruity kind of Roma that may be whacked with a spoon.

Reasons to Eat:

  • Pomegranates contain three types of antioxidant polyphenols, including tannins, anthocyanins, and ellagic acid, in significant amounts

  • Their antioxidant activity is known to inhibit cell proliferation and invasion, and promote apoptosis (cell death) in various cancer cells

  • Pomegranates or pomegranate extract may help reduce joint pain and decrease inflammation in arthritis sufferers

  • They may slow the growth of plaque formation in arteries, boosting heart health, and may even act as a natural treatment for erectile dysfunction

  • Pomegranates are filled with juicy seed sacs called arils; you can eat the arils whole (fiber-rich seed and all) for optimum nutrition

** Above facts (and many more) obtained from here **

bottom of page